We’re home — a poem

Your Lost Language
1 min readJan 6, 2023

--

Meet me in the morning
At a time you’re rarely awake
So I know you feel
That pull we share,
Enough to rouse you from sleep.

Let’s make a pot of tea
And sip it, steaming
In a cold morning light,
With classical music playing
Knowing we have time.

There are things I want to say,
But mostly I’d like to listen.
Tell me how I hurt you,
And what you’ve learned.
Words touching where you hurt me.

Let’s let our fingers touch
And our tears fall.
Grab my arm as I move
To reach for some tissues
Ask me to stay with you.

Stand and bring me to you.
Hold my face in your hands
Tell me none of it matters,
That you love me
With all of you.

Break through the doors
I had to close against you
To survive the last year,
With one kiss
Our damp cheeks meeting.

Your chest was built
To rest my head on,
As you smell my hair again
Telling me you’ve missed it
Holding me tighter.

I’ll cry harder
Not saying anything
Words don’t matter
We’ve made it happen again
We’re home.

--

--

Your Lost Language

“Being loved the way I love, would begin perhaps, a little quietly.” Poems by Sarah.